• First Grade Reading


    Reading (Literacy Block)


    In reading, the classroom structure used is called Daily 5. The Daily 5 is a literacy structure that teaches independence and gives children the skills needed to create a lifetime love of reading and writing. It consists of five tasks that are introduced individually. When introduced to each task, the children discuss what it looks like, sounds like, and feels like to engage in the task independently. Then, the children work on building their stamina until they are successful at being independent while doing that task.


                   These are the five tasks:

    • Read to Self
    • Work on Writing
    • Read to Someone
    • Listen to Reading
    • Word Work


    When all five tasks have been introduced and the children are fully engaged in reading and writing, I am able to work with small groups and confer with children one-on-one. This structure is effective, the results are amazing, and the children look forward to Daily 5 time.


    Before the class engages in Daily 5 each day, we begin with whole-group instruction. Here, strategies are taught using the structure called The Café Menu. This is a catchy acronym standing for Comprehension (C), Accuracy (A), Fluency (F), and Expand Vocabulary (E). The Café Menu provides a structure for conferring, a language for talking about reading development, and a system for tracking growth and fostering student independence.  During the whole-group instruction, the Café strategies are taught and modeled with a variety of literature. After the whole-group instruction students rotate throughout the week between working in small-group instruction (guided reading), where the strategies of Café Menu are practiced, and working independently in Daily 5 activities.